Behind the Lens: Missy Duncan

When I first thought about starting the ‘Behind the Lens’ features, I knew the first person I had to showcase was Missy Duncan. She has worked with our family for over 10 years beginning with our engagement and wedding photos. That was back in the film days. 😉  Since then she has photographed our family of 4 and my sister’s wedding. She has been a huge help to me as I started my photography business and always willing to give advice. She is a great photographer and very kind! Here you can learn a little more about her…

Image

– Name: Missy Duncan

– Business: Duncan Photography

– Website:  www.missyduncan.com

– Tell us about yourself. 

I love to live life to it’s fullest.  I live my life for the Lord.  I’m a Christian mom that looooves her family.  Family is first and foremost in my life.

– How did you get started in photography? 

 It was all just meant to be!  I didn’t love photography my entire life, but always had an artistic eye and a love for art.  It wasn’t until I created a Christmas gift for a family member that it all began.  I started to develop my own film and prints with the help of my husband’s grandfather.  Before I knew it, I had a full blown business all from a booth I had set up at a school’s Fall Festival.  Ever since that Festival, I’ve never been without a customer.  In 2001 I started taking photography classes at HCC and it turned the “ordinary portraits” into “Fine Art Photography.  I’m constantly praising the Lord throughout my journey for every gift the Lord has given me.

When first started my business, I only photographed children and the name of my business started as “Little Missies” Family Photography.  LOL!  Now, with a lot of prayer and constant learning from the Florida Professional Photographer’s Association, Tampa Area Professional Photographers Association, and Professional Photographers of America I am so proud to say that I’m a professional Photographer specializing in the art of Wedding Photography, Families, High School Seniors, Business headshots, and more!

 – What is your favorite type of session? 

Definitely High School Seniors.  I could photograph Seniors every day and be thrilled.  It’s more like a “Fashion” photo shoot. They thrill me.

– What aspect of your photography business do you enjoy most?

My favorite time is when the shooting and editing are complete and I can step back and look at the art that is created. 

– What “must-haves” are in your camera bag?

Not just saying this… but my “must have” for the past few years is a Sassy Strap!!  I love it.  I have it on both my main camera and my backup camera.  I don’t have to worry about my camera slipping off my shoulder or the strap snagging my clothes!!  Love them.  But, next to the Sassy Strap, I’d have to say my little black towel.  In Florida the heat is dreadful and for those who know me… I don’t like to sweat. 

– Outside of photography, what do you enjoy doing in your free time?

Going to church with my family and vacations!!  Everyone should have at least one each year.

Image

Image

Image

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment